It's all about websites!

Logo of Telugu Desam Party

Road No.2, Banjara Hills, Hyderabad-500033

Official Website
Website visited 255 times

Website Snapshot
Website thumbnail of Telugu Desam Party

Also Explore

Indian Political Parties


Get your website listed for FREE and see your TRAFFIC zoom!. Join now

See what Antya users are discovering and rating. Checkout All new Antya Pulse!.

Telugu Desam Party

  • Currently 3.67/5

Telugu Desam Party or TDP is a regional political party in India's Andhra Pradesh state. It was founded by former Telugu film star N.T. Rama Rao on March 29, 1982. Rama Rao wanted an alternative to the ruling Congress Party in the state. In 1994. Rama Rao was elected to be the Chief Minister for the second time. But his governing cabinet and his family suffered from what many political observers saw, as unconstitutional interference in affairs by his new wife. In 1995, Nara Chandrababu Naidu, finance minister and the son-in-law of NTR (who is married to NTR's daughter through his first wife) overthrew Rama Raos government by gathering a majority of the MLAs. This is known as Viceroy Hotel Coup. The overwhelming consensus against his party led the Election Commission to recognize a break-away faction under the partys original name. NTR, the founder of the party, had to rename what was left of the party as NTR TDP. He vowed to go to the people, seeking a fresh mandate after this humiliation. However, within a year, he died of natural causes. After the demise of N.T. Rama Rao in 1996, his widow split the minority party again in the face of other opponents who were claiming to inherit his legacy. However, the infighting, fragmentation and the lack of a charismatic leader, led them to political oblivion in the subsequent elections. Chandrababu Naidu remained the leader of the majority faction, now recognised as the official Telugu Desam.

Rate this!  |  Share your view! |  Tell a Friend

What others are upto?

Websites similar to/related to Telugu Desam Party that you might be interested in

BJP - Bharatiya Janata Party

National Congress Party

RJD (Rashtriya Janata Dal)

Bharatiya Janata Party Gujarat

Shiv Sena

Rashtriya Krantikari Samajwadi Party (RKSP)

Maharashtra Navanirman Vidhyarthi Sena (MNVS)

Communist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist) New Democracy

Bahujan Samaj Party

©2007 Antya Web Private Ltd.